FunChit Emails

Full Version: Australia win Champions Trophy 2009
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Australia were crowned the 2009 ICC Champions Trophy winner after Shane Watson's unbeaten century guided the defending champions to a six-wicket victory over a depleted New Zealand in the low-scoring final match here on Monday.

Watson hit an unbeaten 129-ball 105 (10X4, 4X6) and starred in a 128-run stand with Cameron White (62) under tremendous pressure as Australia, chasing 201 against New Zealand's never-say-die pacers, overcame a wobbly start to reach 206 for four in 45.2 overs.

Earlier, a rudderless New Zealand, sans their injured skipper Daniel Vettori, fumbled and faltered their way to 200 for nine.

CENTURION: A second successive hundred from Shane Watson ensured Australia held on to the Champions Trophy after a six-wicket win over New Zealand at Centurion Park.